Entering 2013 With a Bang!

2013 PicturePhoto provided by http://www.etsy.com

Hello everyone and HAPPY NEW YEAR! Yes, I do realize that it is February (It seems that my mini-hiatus was longer than I planned. Sorry!). Nevertheless, here I am in 2013 ready to give you information you did not even know you needed. However, first, I’d like to take this time to thank each and every one of you that took the time to read one of my posts in 2012. I am thankful for every comment, every like, and every follow. I received my “Happy Anniversary” notification from WordPress this past January, and each of you motivate me to continue blogging month after month. Cheers to all of you!

As for my new comers, thank you for showing an interest in my blog! Hopefully, I can persuade you to return.

Now, if you all noticed, I have entitled today’s post “Entering 2013 With a Bang!” I believe that this is MY year. Cliché, I know, but I have my reasons. Here are my Top 5:

1. It’s my SENIOR YEAR! This year, I will graduate from Georgia Southern University with a BS in Public Relations.

2. I will obtain an internship this summer. I already have options.

3. I WILL have a new car by May (I am speaking it into existence).

4. I have several opportunities to volunteer and develop my PR portfolio.

5. Did you not see my number one? I’M GRADUATING!

Needless to say, I am very excited about what 2013 has in store. On the other hand, while I am happy to share news about myself every now and then, I want you to get more out of this post than a list of my short term goals. I want to inspire you. I informed you that it was my senior year to reassure you that what ever you’re working on can be achieved. There are going to be days when frustration, stress, and tiredness win out. However, it is your job to be determined enough to pick back up the next day. Set achievable goals, and be your own motivation. This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t depend on others. In fact, due to the connections I’ve made, I was offered more than one internship. I cannot say this enough: Network, Network, Network! When it comes to jobs, it is who knows you first, who you know second, and what you know third. Sure, there are ways around this rule, but it couldn’t hurt to try. If you still haven’t reached your goal after all of this, then maybe you should change your mindset. Speak it into existence. Sometimes, a little optimism and positive thinking can go a long way. You do not have to settle. Acknowledge what you want, believe that you can get it, and go for it!  If all else fails, volunteer! Don’t be in a rush to get rich. Volunteering can help you improve upon your skills, build your portfolio, and boost your confidence. Sooner than later, you will be exactly where you want to be. Our resources are endless. Don’t allow yourself to get in your own way. This can be YOUR year, too.

Author’s Note: I’m currently not taking a class that is requiring me to write a blog, and, as a result, I may need help coming up with topics from time to time. If you would like for me to blog about a particular topic, feel free to comment below or  follow me on twitter and tweet me. I can also be reached on LinkedIn.
 
Twitter: @Simply_LeKae
LinkedIn: Alexandria Ford

About blankcanvasofmine

I am a junior PR major at Georgia Southern University where I am also currently the President of D.I.M.E.S. Fashion Organization. I like to cook, read, write poetry, and watch movies in my spare time. I'm a very random person, so expect the unexpected. You've been warned. "I never know what I'm going to put on the canvas. The canvas paints itself. I'm just the middleman." -Peter Max

Posted on February 7, 2013, in Alexandria LeKae Ford, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment